Skip to main content

Melissa Camp received an Off-Campus Dissertation Fellowship from the Graduate School. 

ken Ge playing bass
ken Ge

Michael Carlson won the AMS-SE Student Paper Prize for his paper “Aquilino Coppini, A New Orpheus: Voicing the Erotic Desires of Mary Magdalen.” 

ken Ge published “Resurrecting Masculinity: Gender, Jazz Timbre, and the Afterlife of Dennis Irwin’s Bass,” in The Routledge Companion to Jazz and Gender. His second publication, “Ship of Darkness: Jazz and/as Affect in the Global Cruise Industry,” is forthcoming in the Fall 2022 special issue of Jazz & Culture. ken filed his master’s thesis, entitled “A Harlem in Every City: Cab Calloway and the Sonic Geopolitics of Quizzicale, 1941-1942,” in May. He also traveled to Tübingen, Germany in July as part of the 2022 Royster Global Conference, “Disruption, Digitalization, and Disinformation”, presenting “That Funny Feeling: Studying the Climate Crisis through Music Videos and Emotion.” 

Aldwyn Hogg Jr. received a Dissertation Completion Fellowship from the Graduate School. His research was also featured on in December 2021. 

Sara Lindmark completed her Master of Arts degree with her thesis, “The Underwater Sound: Timbre and Beatmaking Process in Hip Hop Production, 1997-2018” (advised by Aaron Harcus).

Kari Lindquist presented her research at the Feminist Theory & Music Conference at the University of Guelph this summer. She also completed the Smithsonian Folkways Certificate Program in World Music Pedagogy.

Destiny Meadows stands in the stacks in the Library of Congress.
Destiny Meadows with the Sammy Nestico Papers, 2022. (Photo credit Jane Cross.)

Destiny Meadows was the summer 2022 Pruett Fellow and worked on the Sammy Nestico papers and Henry Donch papers. Her work as a Pruett Fellow in the Library of Congress Music Division centered on the intersection of sound and physical fitness in 1980s popular culture. Read more about her work as the 2022 Pruett Fellow here.

Briana Nave completed her Master of Arts degree with her thesis, “‘But Now I’m Gonna Move’: Embodiment and Desire in the Rock Criticism of Ellen Willis” (advised by Mark Katz). 

Eduardo Sato received the Howard Mayer Brown Fellowship from the American Musicological Society, the Mellon Foundation Short-Term Resident Research Fellowship from the American Philosophical Society, and the Donald and Alvene Buckley Summer Research Fellowship from UNC Graduate School. He presented “Transnational Musicology in World War II Brazil: Mário de Andrade, Luiz Heitor Corrêa de Azevedo, and the U.S. Good Neighbor Policy” at the Narrating Musicology Conference in Bern, Switzerland, “Modernist Musical Displacements: Heitor Villa-Lobos and Vera Janacopulos in Paris, 1924” at the Ibero-American Study-Group of the American Musicological Society, “Itinerâncias Modernistas: Vera Janacópulos entre Brasil e França” at the Brazilian Studies Association International Conference and “Teaching From the Borders: De/Centering ‘Music of the Américas’” at the Teaching Music History Conference 2022. He also organized and chaired the workshop “Writing as an International Student” at the Society of Ethnomusicology Annual Meeting.

Mary Shannon had her first article, titled “Female Agency in the Chanson de Mal Mariée Genre,” published in UCLA’s MUSE Undergraduate Research Journal.

Kendall Winter is making slow and steady progress on her dissertation, “Suffragist and Anti-Suffragist Music and Sound in the United States, 1865‒1920,” with generous research support from the American Musicological Society’s Ora Frishberg Saloman Fund (2021) and the Society for American Music’s Margery Lowens Dissertation Research Fellowship (2022). Her first article, “Genre, Class, and Gender in a Suffragist Operetta: Melinda and Her Sisters (1916) at the Waldorf-Astoria,” is forthcoming in Cambridge Opera Journal. Kendall maintains an active service profile, serving as Senator for Musicology in UNC’s Graduate & Professional Student Government, where she is also a member of the State of Graduate & Professional Students Committee, and as a Student Representative, Southeast Chapter, to the AMS Council (2021-2023).

Kelli Smith-Biwer was awarded the inaugural Arts Everywhere Music Technology Graduate Fellow and led the Beat Lab and Electronic Music Club.

Sierriana Terry won an American Dissertation Award from the American Association of University Women.

Kelli Smith-Biwer
Kelli Smith-Biwer in the Beat Lab. (Photo credit Jess Abel / College of Arts and Sciences)